multiple authors; compiled by Nina Alvarez


Early American Gothic Stories and Poems is the first of the ‘By Candlelight’ series of “bedtime stories for grown-ups” meant to be read in the spirit of reviving that long-beloved childhood tradition of storytime.


All the stories and poems in this volume were written between 1820 and 1936 and represent what editor Nina Alvarez considers a toothsome cross-section of early American literature in the gothic tradition.


This collection includes:

"Silence: - A Fable" by Edgar Allan Poe 
"Young Goodman Brown" by Nathaniel Hawthorne 
"The Raven" by Edgar Allan Poe 
"The Legend of Sleepy Hollow" by Washington Irving 
"Haunted Houses" by Henry Wadsworth Longfellow 
"The Fall of the House of Usher" by Edgar Allan Poe 
"Souvenir" by Edwin Arlington Robinson 
"The Yellow Wallpaper" by Charlotte Perkins Gilman 
“One need not be a Chamber — to be Haunted —” by Emily Dickinson 
"The Minister’s Black Veil" by Nathaniel Hawthorne 
"Annabel Lee" by Edgar Allan Poe 
"The Wildermings" by Alice Cary 
"The Mill" by Edwin Arlington Robinson 
"The Eyes" by Edith Wharton 
"Spirits of the Dead" by Edgar Allan Poe


Early American Gothic Stories and Poems (compiled by Nina Alvarez)

    • Series: By Candlelight
    • Paperback: 182 pages
    • Publisher: Cosmographia Books (September 8, 2018)
    • ISBN-13: 978-1732269040
    • Product Dimensions: 7.4 x 0.5 x 9.7 inches
    • Shipping Weight: 15.2 ounces
    • Category: Literature & Fiction/Short Stories & Anthologies/Anthologies
    • List Price: $14.95
  • Editor Nina Alvarez discusses the inspriation behind Early American Gothic on the "Write to Survive" Podcast

© Cosmographia Books 2019 
Subscribe to our newsletter